Uncategorized

NaNoWriMo & NaBloPoMo 1/30

NaNoWriMo kicked off just 12 short hours ago. I was sitting at a local Perkins with a group of like-minded individuals, and when the clock struck midnight there was dead silence at the table as our fingers started tappety-tapping on our keyboards.

So far I’m 1,535 words into day 1. My goal is to do about 2500 words today. I’m going on a road trip Thursday morning and all that driving and fun will seriously cut into my available writing time. I’m planning to write from my hotel room and then from my mom’s place as time allows, so it’s going to be like a little extra challenge for me.

Apparently it’s also NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month) and the challenge there is to post one blog each day for thirty days. So guess what this over-achiever is doing? lol.

Here is a link to some Writing Prompts for NaBloPoMo if you care to join the challenge.

Today’s Prompt: “Nov. 1: When you’re having a bad day with your mental health, what do you do to help yourself?”

I meditate. I cry. I rage at the world. I am certain I have no friends. And then I journal about it, because when I put it down into words on a page I can be more rational about it. I can look at what I’m saying and realize “this is not reality, this is my depression/anxiety talking”.

That is a tool my therapist suggested when I described to her how my mind will latch onto a thought and then run in circles with it until I’m sure the world is out to get me.

A lot of people I’ve met who have anxiety or stress seem reluctant to try meditation as a coping tool, and I’m not sure why. They assume it won’t work? Or maybe they don’t understand what meditation actually is?  Maybe they think it just means you sit around with your eyes closed. Who knows. I do know that it’s easier to stay depressed than to force myself outside my comfort zone trying to fix the problem. Fixing the problem requires effort, and if effort doesn’t pay off then it feels like failure.

NaBloPoMo Day 1: achievement unlocked
NaNoWriMo Day 1: 1905/1667 words: ahead of the game

Leave a Reply

