Uncategorized

NaBloPoMo Day 2

So, I slacked off on all of my writing on he 3rd and 4th due to working again. I do temp jobs from time to time and they usually last about a month or so, but I am wiped after waking up so early and of course it never occurred to me to take my laptop to work and write on my breaks. That would be thinking ahead. That’s not how we roll here.

So Day 2’s prompt:

Nov. 2: When was the last time you did something brave? What happened?

The last time I did something brave was on August 15, 2016. I went under the surgeon’s knife and had Bariatric Surgery. That is to say, weight loss surgery. I’m not going to go into great detail here but suffice it to say that traditional, non-surgical weight loss methods did not work for me due to medical conditions that made it extremely difficult to lose weight. The only time I lost weight was when I starved myself or took diet pills. I mean that literally. If I ate no more than 800 calories every single day, I lost weight. That was not healthy, nor was it feasible in a long term lifestyle.

It took a LONG time to get approved for the surgery. U of I is where weight loss surgery was pioneered and so they have an amazingly high standard in order to keep their Center of Excellence rating. This includes LESS than 2% complication/fatality rate.

I started the program officially on February 10th, 2016 with an initial consultation. Then there was a minimum of 3 months with a registered dietitian. This is required by the hospital AND by insurance. Some insurance companies require 6 months. This means I had to track every single bite or drink that passed my lips for better or worse. This means I had to be accountable for every action or lack of action.

After the three months I was cleared by the dietitian and then the psych evaluation is required. For me this meant talking to my therapist (who was approved by the hospital as qualified to do this type of evaluation) for about 45 minutes. I had to explain to her in detail what the procedure was (Laproscopic Sleeve Gastrectomy in my case) and detail for her what changes I had to make permanently in order for the surgery to go forward and be successful.

Once that was done and I had a battery of various blood tests the hospital sent that information along with my reasons for needing the surgery (Sleep Apnea, BMI over 35, PCOS, Pre-diabetes in my personal case) to the insurance company. This whole process took from February to the end of June and included meetings with the surgeon herself and the coordinating nurse.

It’s a waiting game and not one that can be taken lightly. So I feel like going through with a major surgery of this nature is probably the bravest thing I’ve done.

 

One thought on “NaBloPoMo Day 2

Leave a Reply

